top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSteven Rea

"You said.......I say......"

Here's a quick and easy way to correct and recast to a student when speech and language errors are heard within the classroom.

When an error is heard the teacher or other staff member corrects by repeating what the child said and then modeling the correct way; here are some examples:

Child: Her is going to the store.

Teacher: Jimmy, you said "her is going to the store, I say she is going to the store"

Child: I sawed my grandma yesterday.

Teacher: Gracie, you said "I sawed my grandma yesterday, I say I saw my grandma yesterday"

Child: You dave (gave) me a pencil.

Teacher: Jenny, you said "You dave me a pencil I say you gave me a pencil."

This way the child is made aware of a mistake and he/she also gets a quick model of the corrected version of what he or she just said. It may not seem like this would make any change occur but with several corrections a week or month it will definitely aid in the child in making the transition to the correct manner more easily.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page